People I Know

So I’ve decided that I want to add a new regular segment to my blog.  An interview portion where I talk to folks to find out what they do, who they are, what inspires them, and to learn their opinions about some of the pop culture and geek interests that I cover in this blog.  But here’s the twist, I don’t really know anyone who’s famous (although I did go to high school with the Black Keys, but they were ahead of me in school . . . ), and I don’t really have contact with any top ranking experts in specific fields so all my interviews will be, as the title suggests, just real people I know.

That’s not to say that I don’t know some interesting people.  I have quite an eclectic group of friends, if I do say so myself.  I know several artists, a couple of chiropractors, my wife is a teacher, I know a welder who has performed standup, a photographer, musicians, students, I have a cousin who is a CPA, a mother who is a nurse, I have friends who aspire to work in film, I know a young woman who was involved in the Roller Derby, and I could go on and on.

My point is that I’m surrounded by interesting people with a plethora of unique perspectives and I think it would be incredibly enlightening and amusing to tap these folks for interviews, giving them a chance to talk about themselves, discuss some of the issues of the day, and find out what their thoughts are about such poignant questions as “Who would win in a fight between Admiral Ackbar and Davey Jones?”  I know what my answer is, but what do other people I know think?

To be completely honest this is also a bit of a self serving venture because it gives me an excuse to set aside some time to sit down with some of my friends and have a semi-serious conversation, something that often seems hard to come by in these high speed, constant activity times.  This gives me a great chance to learn a little more about the friends and family I already know so well, while at the same time providing me some fresh blog fodder!  It’s a perfect venture.

So if you know me, expect to get a call or text in the near future setting up a time for your interview.  I don’t care if you don’t think you have anything interesting to say, I want to hear it, and I want to post it here so the rest of the world (aka the 11 people who might actually read the post) can read it too!  I’m already working on getting my first interviewee set up, so expect the first segment of People I Know to appear next week sometime!

That is all!

These people I do not know.

 

These are people I know.

Leave a Reply

