Friday Funny Pages: The Horror!

My sister sent me a stack of comics that she found at a yard sale last year, it was about the same time I decided to start doing Friday Funny Pages so I went through them searching for amusing panels.  This image comes from an issue of Captain America that she sent me.  In the issue Cap was fighting his ol’ Nazi vampire nemesis Baron Blood.  I have since filed away this comic among my several long boxes and I don’t remember any of the other details, and am too lazy to go searching for it.  So I apologize for my lack of background information this week!  I’ll try and make up for it next week.

Anyway I just really enjoy this panel for a few reasons.  First, Cap’s expression here is just great.  Second, the words.  When you pair the words in this panel, with Cap’s face in this panel . . . . I just find that combination really amusing.  Lord Falsworth, destroying vampires, comic book gold.  Third, Captain America fighting vampires.  When you think of heroes who battle the supernatural your thoughts turn to Dr. Strange, Blade, or Dr. Fate but not generally Captain America.  Of course Cap has actually met up with several paranormal threats during his time, you’d be hard pressed to find a hero who hasn’t had a close encounter with the paranormal, but it’s still funny to think about.

So that’s it.  Just a quick one this week, and as always keep reading those comics and if anyone comes across some chuckle worthy panels point me in the right direction and I’ll post em here!

That is all!

(Oh and if anyone was wondering, the one way to totally destroy a vampire is to cut it’s head off, which Cap does here with the edge of his shield.  Badass.)

Leave a Reply

