Can You Identify These Toys?

     A few blogs back I mentioned that I have a couple of toys from my childhood that I simply have no idea what they are or even where they came from, well I’ve found them.  Below are some pictures of the mysterious toys in question.  The first is a pair of small animalistic alien creatures wearing space suits.  Initially I thought they were just Battle Beast rip offs, but they appear to be pilots of some type of vehicles.  They have articulated knees so it would seem that they at least had something to sit on, that’s my guess anyway.  The other toy in question I’m sure was some kind of pilot.  It’s a tiny little figure, a human in a space suit but the intriguing thing is he has magnets inset in his boots which I assume would be used for clinging to whatever vehicle he was a part of.  There are some symbols painted on his space suit and I’ve tried to capture those in the photos.

     Take a look at the pictures below and if anyone reading this has any idea what the hell these are leave me a comment pointing me in the right direction.  I’d just like to know what exactly these things are that were loitering around my bedroom with my Ninja Turtles and Masters of the Universe crews.  I’ve got a gently used one dollar bill in my wallet for the individual who can correctly identify all three of these bad boys!  (That is as long as you live within the local area and would be willing to come and pick up your dollar, it seems like kind of a waste to spend half a dollar to mail a dollar somewhere.  Of course driving these days is just as bad what with gas prices being what they are, you’d spend at least a dollar just to drive and pick up your dollar, and that doesn’t make sense.  I suppose this is just a symptom of the deflated dollar value and our current economic situation in general huh?  Really makes you think doesn’ it?)

     You know what, forget the dollar prize for a correct answer, instead if you can correctly identify these toys you’ll receive my undying gratitude for a job well done, sound good?  

So an ant and a hammerhead shark walk into a bar . . . .

      

The backside of the Ant/Hammerhead Shark aliens. What are these?

 

The mysterious tiny space man

 

Side shot of the tiny space man, notice the markings

 

Overhead shot, more markings on his helmet.

11 comments on “Can You Identify These Toys?

  1. scott kaczmarski says:

    As far as the magnet dude spaceman goes, check out Starcom: The US Space Force. It was a short-lived cartoon from the 80s. I had some when I was younger, and the tiny dudes all had magnets to hold them in motorized transforming vehicles and such. I think it’s a safe bet. http://WWW.starcomspaceforce.com/ should help you narrow your search. I have no idea what the other two are…

    • Yup! That’s one mystery solved! The space man is indeed part of StarCom! He’s actually one of the bad guys who goes by the name of Capt. Mace, and his vehicle was called the Shadow Vampire. Sounds like a badass to me.

  2. Thanks to my wise and knowledgeable mother-in-law I now have the info about the other two figures as well! They are from the Dino Riders toy line from the 80’s! I believe these guys were also hand me downs because I actually have one of their dinosaurs which is missing all its gear, and which I never realized was associated with these little guys. Again these guys were part of the “bad guy” faction of Dino Riders, known as Rulons, these two are called Antor and Hammerhead. (Guess which is which.) Hammerhead rode around on a triceratops while Antor had a deinonychus. Mystery solved!

    • scott kaczmarski says:

      Really? Dino Riders? I had some of those too, and I never would have guessed. Oh well, at least they are identified.

  3. Nate says:

    Thanks for this post! I too have a similar space man figure with magnetic feet, and I could not figure out what he came from. Now I know my figurine is General Von Dar, very cool. I remember playing with it all the time but I don’t think I was ever familiar with the show.

    • Glad I could help! I was in the exact same boat. He was cool as a kid because he’d could stick to the metal of the other toys but I had no idea how cool some of the StarCom toys were until I looked them up. Kinda makes me wish I had more of them!

  4. w says:

    i had this as a kid and i recall the sets had magnetic areas all over the surface, magnetic strips that allowed the men to go upside down,vehicles ect,,all with the space theme ,hence the ‘anti grav’ boots

  5. Forager says:

    Came across this blog-post by accident from Google Images when I saw that Hammerhead figure. I had one which my mum bought me from an op-shop but I never knew what it was from. Thanks!

  6. Matt says:

    I had a Starcom guy too, apparently. I don’t know which one though. I lost him, along with all my toys, in the house fire my family endured when I was younger. At least, its good to know what he was from. I would play with anywhere and it was a lot of fun.

  7. Sideswipe says:

    They are dinoriders! The blue hammerhead is called Mako.

  8. Renaud says:

    I remember the spaceman with magnet feet. They came with futuristic vehicules that would transform when the figurine where placed on certain parts. This one was a bad guy, but i forgot the name of that toy line.

Leave a Reply

