Terrordrome Renovation 2011: Stage 2

Well I’ve gotten a strong start with this G.I. Joe project that I’ve undertaken.  I’ve gotten everything down in my basement now and (mostly) sorted out.  Thanks to the resources at YOJOE.COM I was able to determine what all I’ve got on my hands, and whether or not I’ve got all the required bits and pieces needed to fully get these things back together.  Here’s a quick list of the major items I’ll be working on.

The Terrordrome – This of course is the big one, it has the most parts, it’s the biggest and it will take me the longest to get cleaned up I’m saving this one for last.

G.I. Joe Headquarters Command Center– After taking a look at yojoe.com I think I might actually be missing a few parts for this, it looks like I’m missing some jail bar sections for the brig, which is a shame cause that’s the coolest part!

MOBAT– A big ol’ tank for the Joes, it was actually motorized and battery powered but the battery cover is missing.  I think there might be a hatch cover missing as well, but regardless this thing looks cool and is in good shape.

VAMP– A typical combat jeep for the Joes.  This is one of those toys I remember a lot of people having as a kid.  Nearly complete just missing the pivot for the rear turret!

HAL (x2)- There are actually two of these things they are big artillery guns that can be hooked up to other vehicles and towed into battle.

APC– The big daddy.  A troop transport.  Every toy group had one of these back in the day, the vehicle that held a ton of figures and could double as a type of carrying case.  Good stuff mostly intact only missing the top gun.

Dragonfly– Another G.I. Joe classic, this was Wild Bill’s helicopter.  Unfortunately this one has been marked with a “BR” on my list, meaning Beyond Repair.  The blades are snapped off, the rotor is bent, the cockpit cover is missing and the landing skids are gone.

F.A.N.G– Looks like Cobra won’t have much luck in the air either.  The F.A.N.G is a small Cobra helicopter, but this one is also marked BR, the blades and rotor are missing, and the cockpit cover is MIA.  Not in bad shape otherwise . . .

H.I.S.S.- The iconic Cobra armored vehicle.  It looks like a Jawa sandcrawler with guns mounted to the top.  This is also not in good shape, but not hopeless.  The cockpit cover is missing, and the guns for the turret are gone but I have a plan to perhaps improvise some guns.  We’ll see.

Rattler– This one is BR also unfortunately.  This was one of the coolest Cobra planes.  Bent wings that could rotate for a vertical takeoff.  All I have of this one however is it’s shell, everything that could come off of this one is gone and nowhere to be found.

Bridge Layer– One of the coolest Joe vehicles I never knew existed.  It’s an armored treaded vehicle that has a big folded bridge section resting over it and which can extend to unfold the bridge out in front of it to make a field crossing, pretty rad and mostly intact.

Eliminator– This is an ominous sounding Joe vehicle from the Battle Force 2000 fleet of vehicles.  Apparently there were six different vehicles in the Battle Force 2000 group which could be taken apart and reformed as the Future Fortress, a base for the Joes.  There are three of the Battle Force vehicles in this collection and they are 100% intact!

Marauder– An armored three wheeled motorcycle with removable gun platform.  Part of the Battle Force 2000 group.

Sky Sweeper– A mobile radar and anti-aircraft platform with a deployable guard post.  Part of the Battle Force 2000 group.

D.E.M.O.N.- One of the craziest vehicles in the collection, this one is of course on the Cobra side, specifically it is part of Destro’s Iron Grenadiers.  It has two sets of treads, an offset cockpit, surface to air rockets, golden guns mounted all over the thing, and the treads can come together elevating the vehicle in the air!  Zany.

Swampfire– Another one for the Cobras.  This one is a small aquatic helicopter with floater skids and a forward mounted gun.  This vehicle belonged to the Dreadnoks.  It is in great shape and 100% intact.

Stellar Stiletto– Although this sounds like the name for some kind of drag club, this is actually a Cobra vehicle.  A slender rocket ship, this vehicle is actually also complete and in great shape.

As I’ve been looking these things over during my initial inspections I’m finding quite a bit of evidence of the mice that once made their home among these toys.  Aside from their general filth, the mice apparently enjoyed gnawing on some of the plastic parts.  As I’ve been cleaning them I find more and more chewed sections or whittled down parts.  It’s pretty entertaining really to see where they have chewed, and it’s not like I was ever planning on trying to sell these things or anything, so it all adds a bit of character for whatever kids play with these next!

Crystal Ball was severely mauled by the mice

 

This chair from the Terrordrome also incurred the wrath of mice

I’ve had to make a few repairs so far but nothing major just some quick gluing.  There was a guard tower with a few cracks in one of its legs which were easily repaired.  Also sadly some of the figures have fallen apart as G.I. Joes tend to do.  The rubber band rots inside those things and then they’re done for.  Unfortunately it just so happened to be two of the coolest Cobra figures that were among the boxes.  Xamot (yes I looked it up to see which twin it was exactly) and the Iron Grenadier driver for Destro’s D.E.M.O.N.  I’ve glued their asses to their torsos but their legs will either have to be glued or just remain loose.  Either way both of them will permanently be in a seat for the rest of their days, which is a shame, Tamox and Xamot were two of the few Cobra high command I never had as a kid, oh well Xamot will at least be able to man one of the many computer stations in the Terrordrome when it’s done.

Xamot and the D.E.M.O.N. driver will never walk again.

So now I’ve finished all the washing of the small weapons and removable base parts.  The figures that were still in one piece also got a thorough washing.  All that remains are the many vehicles and the large bases, which won’t be as quick as it sounds.  However I have gotten a good start, and the first of the vehicles have been scrubbed down and reassembled.  Here’s what I’ve got so far, take a look.

The Swampfire before it's cleaning, not bad.

The Swampfire after its cleaning, and fully assembled.

Cobra's H.I.S.S. was pretty grimy

The H.I.S.S. is now clean but not very effective without any of its weaponry.

The G.I. Joe VAMP in need of washing.

A clean VAMP. Though I have the gun for the VAMP there's no pivot for it, so I laid a gurney across the back.

The Sky Sweeper was pretty much together when I found it. Here it is cleaned up and all together.

The APC was pretty gross when I found it.

The APC cleaned and loaded up.

Cleaned and put together. You can see here that the turret is missing and toward the back there is a section where the mice chewed on the plastic top.

 

So for the most part a pretty successful start to this little project, five of the vehicles done, all the small parts cleaned, and all the figures washed.  There are still several more vehicles to go and the big bases.  Like I said before the Joe base shouldn’t be too difficult it just consists of a floor and several flat wall sections, but the Terrordrome looms on the horizon still . . . . 

That is all!

Leave a Reply

