Friday Funny Pages: Camelot

     Here is yet another comic book post from me this week!  Often times you can find some real zany panels throughout the pages of comic books, especially when they are taken out of context and shown by themselves.  That’s exactly what I have done here today.  I plan on making this a weekly segment of my blog, bringing you my favorite panels from the pages of various comic books that display quirky or funny scenes.  In fact it was this weeks panel which sparked this idea and sent me off on a hurried flip through my trades in search of other such gems!  Some that I’ve found aren’t funny, but more weird, others are creepy, and a couple aren’t limited to single panels but two or three that go together.  So there aren’t really any rules to this, I’m just going to be presenting panels that I like, but that’s not to say they will be panels that I think are “cool” with stellar art or “badass” depictions of the characters.  You get that all the time in comics, especially these days.  This segment is based purely on my goofball sense of humor, I’m looking for that certain whimsical ju nu se qua!  And some of the upcoming images I could imagine seeing as gifs in responses in forums, or maybe even one day as internet memes, oh to dream! 

Anywho without further ado, here we go!

   

     This panel comes from way back in Iron Man #149 during the epic and now legendary story arc where Dr. Doom and Iron Man get caught in an accidental activation of Doom’s time machine and get sent back to the age of King Arthur and Camelot where the two of them, of course, take up opposing sides in an ongoing struggle between the knights of the round table and the evil forces of Morgana le Fay.  It’s all collected in a trade simply called “Iron Man VS Dr. Doom” check it out if you’ve never read it. 

I don’t know if this panel was trying to go for some humor or not.  My guess is that it probably was, things weren’t always taken so serious back in the day.  Intentional or not it makes me laugh and goes well with my more serious discussion of the Arthur legends in my last blog entry!

One comment on “Friday Funny Pages: Camelot

  1. scott kaczmarski says:

    We’re Knights of the Round Table,
    We dance when ‘ere we’re able…

Leave a Reply

